Menu Close

Updates to Google Drive

Decide how to apply link-sharing security update to Drive

TL;DR:

To make file sharing more secure, an upcoming security update changes the URLs for some Google Drive files and folders. The new links include a resource key in a file’s URL.

PHASE 1

PHASE 2

PHASE 3

Who’s impacted, what to do, and when

If you don’t take any action, the security update impacts files, folders, and shared drives that don’t have the resource key. By default, all users not in a Google Workspace for Education organization can remove the update from files they own or manage.

Even if you have no impacted content, this update might affect your organization in the future. Impacted files can come to your organization through shared drives or a change in file ownership. For details about impacted files, shared drives, and users in your organization, Use the alert center.

What’s changing

  • On September 13, 2021, Drive applies a security update to make file sharing more secure. As an administrator, you can choose how to apply this update.
  • This update changes the links used for some files. Access to impacted files won’t change for people who have already viewed them or who have direct access, but others might need to request access.

Important: Make sure to update the links to the impacted files and folders that you use in internal sites or documentation to the new links that include resource keys.  

Timeline

Phase 1: Admin chooses how to apply the update—Prior to July 23, 2021

The setting you choose applies to the top-level organization. You can’t apply it to an individual organizational unit or group.

As an administrator, you need to decide how to apply the update to files in your organization. If you choose to apply the security update, impacted users get notified of any impacted items. You can change your selection after July 23, 2021. However, Drive won’t notify your users of your changes.

To apply the security update:

Please have your Workspace administrator, organization owner, or authorized delegate complete the form below. A member of our development team will apply the policy change(s) requested and reply with a confirmation.

Note: If your organization doesn’t have any impacted files, still choose whether this security update applies to impacted files that move into your organization in the future.

Phase 2: User is notified & chooses how to apply the update—From July 26 to August 25, 2021

Drive notifies impacted users of the update and any affected items that they own or manage. If you let them, your users can decide to remove the update from those items.

Phase 3: Drive enforces update—Beginning September 13, 2021

The update should finish by the end of September 2021.

Your Workspace Policy Preference

Leave a Reply